Dog Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello :)
I would like some advice and opinions on owning a dog whilst working.
I am a freelance illustrator but work part time 10-4, each day of the week. (weekends off)

Luckily I work five minutes from home so I will easily be able to make it home on my hour lunch break. I grew up with labradors but my mum worked from home so they were rarely left alone day to day. I live an active lifestyle and would be commitment to walking my dog morning and evening, however, I still have reservations, especially if I get a puppy.

Thoughts on working these hours and juggling a young happy dog? I would love to hear from anyone in a similar boat and how you've been able to give your dog enough time and attention despite it.

As I mentioned Ive grown up around labradors and adore them but am open to other breed advice supposing they tolerate being left alone any better? If thats even a thing! (doubt).

My main priority is obviously that dog is happy and healthy above all else.

Thankyou

·
Registered
5,929 Posts
hello :)

As I mentioned Ive grown up around labradors and adore them but am open to other breed advice supposing they tolerate being left alone any better? If thats even a thing! (doubt).

My main priority is obviously that dog is happy and healthy above all else.

Thankyou
You grew up with dogs but did you help potty train one is the question? I would recommend going to a shelter and adopting a 6 month old instead of a puppy. Raising a puppy is a huge chore with the potty training chewing and sharp little land shark teeth. My last one was a puppy and I had forgotten all the little things that make a puppy so much work. Plus the lost sleep. Sounds like you are a perfect home go for it. I don't know how anyone lives without a dog in the house they are the best.

·
Registered
1,022 Posts