Dog Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
986 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im asking this question purely just out of curiosity. I wont be replying to replies on this topic but would love to read what others think.

·
Registered
388 Posts
Nobody. Calm down, take some deep breaths, were all on your side! Let us help...that's why we have these forums.

Sure, at times people may come off as opinionated or pushy, but the vast majority of even those posts are intended to be helpful!

Tomorrow's a new day, enjoy it for all it's worth!

·
Registered
388 Posts
Something else I want to mention, about autism and the spectrum it entails. I am not an expert, nor have I been trained in this area, so these are solely my observations.

Background, on the street I grew up up there were multiple group homes for people with disabilities.

I went to a grade school that had a section for disabled kids.

We all played on the same playground. Deaf or blind or fully functional, all together, same space.

My mother and father were very adamant about how to treat disabled people with respect, but when you're a kid playing with deaf and blind kids, you see some of the best in people, and unfortunately some of the worst.

It was exhilarating in so many ways, but so freaking frustrating in others.

As a young kid, I got to know a guy with cerable palsy who rode down our street on a three wheeled bike. Dude couldn't talk well, but he wanted to. So we let him!

Name was Arnold, and he was a great man! He taped screws for the Salvation Army, and it meant everything to him!

When he told me, we were still in that I'm learning your dialect stage, so he had to repeat it until I got (previously, I didn't realise that taping screws could be a job handled by people, but it was his motivation, and it suited his abilities, so THANK GOD FOR THE PEOPLE THAT HELPED TO DEVELOP THAT KIND OF JOB!). And that brings tears to my eyes!