Dog Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Hello all,

I am new to this dog forum, and am looking forward to reading all of your experiences and advice!

I just found out today that my wonderful little dog, Sophie (3 years old) needs surgery to repair a ruptured disc in her spine. This all happened over night and she is only continuing to lose more feeling in her hind legs.

Without the surgery, Sophie will never be able to walk again and will have to be put to sleep. Has anybody else experienced something like this? Where the only thing stopping you from saving your pet is money? How do you deal with the emotions and guilt?

Any advice and personal experience would be much appreciated.

Thank you all!

Attachments

·
Registered
38 Posts
Please go to dodgerslist.com !! You are dealing with Ivdd! They are the experts!! I put my 4 year old dachshund to sleep due to the same issue you are dealing with! I was NOT educated, and NOT a day goes by that I do NOT regret that decision!! There are OPTIONS besides surgery... Some dogs RECOVER with STRICT crate rest and meds... And even if they do not regain use of their legs they can go on and live happy lives!! Ivdd does NOT have to be a death sentence, please do NOT make the same mistake I made... I REGRET it EVERYDAY!!??

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3