Dog Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So about three weeks ago I adopted my first dog (Tchaikovsky). I've never had any sort of pet in my life so I am completely new to this. I am sure that there is stuff I'm not thinking of that are important to helping my new dog have a wonderful happy life in my home.
Tchai is a 1.5 year old male border collie mix that I adopted from a rescue shelter. He has heartworms (diagnosed 12/8/18).
Please let me know stuff that I'm probably not realizing I need to do with my new dog, all advice (even stuff I'm already doing) is greatly appreciated. I just want to make sure that I'm not missing anything.

Thank you in advance :)

·
Registered
424 Posts
First, congrats on getting a dog! Since you asked for advice I think you already have a lot going in the right direction. You're concerned about doing the best for him. Dogs are amazing companions. They are a lot of work sometimes and a big responsibility, but they also always make a bad day better.

My advice:

-Treat your dog like family. He relies on you for his very life. Do what you need to do to keep him safe, healthy, and happy.

-Stay on top of his health with current vaccines, microchip, yearly vet visits, yearly dental visit. If you're able to, look into getting pet health insurance. I have it and it's complete peace of mind knowing that if something happens your pet is covered and you don't have to worry about what treatment you can get. I have Healthy Paws. They have very good reviews. Unfortunately my dog that is still a puppy had to have surgery in Nov that cost almost $8,000. Basically I paid 10% of that, the insurance covered the rest.

-Border collies are the smartest breed, they are high energy and need their mind challenged. Play with him daily, look into training classes, etc. He's likely to surprise you with how smart he is.