Dog Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I'm planning to get a puppy/dog from either a breeder or a rescue group at some point in the next few months, and I'm trying to figure out what breeds would be the best fit.

I'm a college student, I live in an apartment, and I plan to keep living in apartments after college because I really enjoy apartment living. My current apartment has no weight limits and relatively few breed restrictions (Pit Bull Terriers, Rottweilers, Doberman Pinschers, Chows, and Spitz). It's a very dog friendly apartment complex and community in general.

I'm looking for a cuddly, affectionate dog that can also be a jogging/hiking buddy or just happy going on long (3-6 mile) walks. I want a dog that is trainable and typically a friendly and nonaggressive breed, because most places I go outside of school are dog friendly and I want to be able to take this pup places with me. Beyond not being hairless, appearance doesn't matter to me (I am a sucker for floppy ears, though). As for size, I'm thinking anywhere in the 20lb to 80lb range? I'm pretty sure I want to avoid the teeny tiny dogs and the giant breeds.

Right now, based on my own research, the breeds at the top of my list are Cocker Spaniels and Golden Retrievers, but I'm completely open to advice and other suggestions!

·
Super Moderator
3,746 Posts
A couple of questions:

Will this be your first dog? What kind of previous experience do you have with caring for puppies? adult dogs?

What is your daily schedule like? How much time do you realistically have every day to care for your new pet?

·
Registered
434 Posts