Dog Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Adopted Abby Rose from our local pound in February. Her paperwork has her listed with various names and as a poodle mix around 8 or 9 yrs old. Looking at internet pictures of various dogs I see more Bolognese or Bichon in her than poodle. Her hair is straight other than the bottoms of her legs, her ears and her neck. She is small, only weighing about 12 lbs, short snout and very round, almost bulging, brown eyes. Just curious as to what everyone thinks...

Attachments

·
Registered
2,638 Posts
I see more bichon than poodle as well. I'm not a genetics expert but probably 2 very similar looking dogs...isn't white recessive? Maybe a poodle bichon mix? how big is she?

·
Registered
1,904 Posts
The first picture looks especially Bichon. Maybe with some Maltese mixed in, for the straight hair? Bolos are pretty rare, and she's unlikely to be a purebred Bolo due to size.

At any rate, adorable. :)

·
Registered
174 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Oh she is definately not a purebred (she was, I believe, a Make - a - wish dog, information I'm not supposed to know).
She has a long tail with straight hair. she was 8 or 9 lbs when we found her, skin and bones and is now a healthy 12 - 14 lbs (I can't remember). What was the question about being white? She has lots of tear staining, around her face especially but also over her 'hot spots'.
Thanks...I know not much about dog breeds but had a poodle when I was younger and my families' upstairs neighbor also had a poodle and Abby is nothing like Alfie or Tippy.
Sadly, she doesn't play...not with toys, kong, or with us. She prefers being in a tight fit area (between the arm rest and me or a large couch pillow or on our overstuffed dining room chair on which I have a thick soccer blanket over covering any open areas (confined).