Dog Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
This is my first time posting, and I am looking for some advice on what breed puppy to get. Some background information about me: I am a 20 yr old college student who takes a few classes every other day. I am looking to add a to our family puppy to in the beginning of summer so I could be with him/her 24/7 for the first few months.
I have another dog, Luna, living with my dad and me. I'm home every three hours to walk her and feed her. Luna was meant to be my dog. She's a rescue newfie mix, but she attached greatly to my dad. I'm not mad about her attaching to my dad so much because she has had such a hard life before moving in with us. I know she was being hit, and underfed, and I understand that being with the 'alpha' of our pack 24/7 makes he feel secure. However, the reason for having a dog and living with my dad is that last year in college I got really depressed living in dorms and the whole lifestyle wasn't working for me. By luck my dads job moved him to the area, and I moved into a real house with him. Luna really helped me get back into a healthy mental state by giving me a reason to get outside everyday and live more adventurously.
Another reason for looking for another dog is that I think I'm tiring Luna out. When I rescued Luna she was a really hyper in-your-face kind of dog. I know its good that she's becoming more secure with herself, but I am really attracted to dogs that are all love all the time. My dad and I walk or swim her at least 3-5 miles a day. She's not physically hurting by any means, but theres little energy left over for her to be overtly affectionate at the end of the day (unless my its my dad).