Dog Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ive been trying to train my dog some easy tricks but whenever i pull out a treat to give her as reward she wont stop focusing on the treat and ignores everything else. if i want her to pick up a ball and give it to me, its like she become dumb. she walks past the ball, sniffes everywhere and completely ignores the ball when i ask her to pick it up, she goes to where the ball is if i point there but just smells, but refuse to pick the ball up. i know the dog is not dumb, but the way she acts whenever i pull the treat out makes me question what im doing wrong.

Why does the dog focus on the treat instead of my commands as fast i have a treat in my hand?

The dog is adopted from a shelter and is a mix of bordercollie and islandsheep dog (pic of her in photo) About age 14 now.

could the issue maybe be me? i have been spoiling the dog according to others since i got her like 7 years ago not on purpose but outoff kindness. we are together 24/7 as i havent work since i got the dog, or even been without each other for a single day since i got her, no vacation no nothing that my dog couldnt join me on. So the dog knows what to do/act to get me to example cook meat or such instead of dog food. So i would say the dog is having a happy and good life.

·
Super Moderator
3,267 Posts
It isn't because of spoiling her or anything like that (I'm all in favour of a bit of spoiling 😊)

It's not uncommon for this to happen, you might find it easier if you use a clicker. Then, the treat doesn't even appear until after she has completed the trick.