Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,902 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My vet put Chisum on Trazodone twice daily as she's more comfortable with this medicine than Prozac. He was also prescribed Xanax for -super extreme- emergencies or when I know a major trigger is going to occur --- not regularly.

Anyone have experience with this medication? Good/bad? He'll take his first pill tonight.

Also, she's got him on 50 mg twice a day. He's 22 lbs. Does this sound normal or like a high dose? Should I break the pill for the first week or so to ease him onto it?

I take Lexapro myself and am on all of 20 mg....so numbers that high shake me a bit!

Final question, through my vet's pharmacy a bottle costs $26, so that would be $26 per month. It doesn't necessarily break the bank, but I do want to get the best deal possible so are there any alternative places where it might be cheaper?

·
Premium Member
4,613 Posts
Sorry I have zero experience with dog medication (except for flea/heartworm etc.) BUT I did want to ask about the new vet? Is she nice? Do you like her? How were Chisum's results?

·
Registered
1,634 Posts
If you change the dose at all you should let your vet know. Different medications have different therapeutic doses so 20mg of lexapro is totally different to 50mg of trazadone. In humans the initial doses for trazadone is 150mg according to drugs.com.

·
Registered
2,902 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
I do like her! The clinic is absolutely gorgeous and spotless, the exam room was wonderful. It was a little expensive, but half the cost was having him sedated so if we can avoid that in the future it would be nice :)

She did blood work, fecal analysis, heartworm test, and a urinalysis (which I had to drop off this morning). So far, so good. He's a healthy boy!