Dog Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2,794 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Most trainers I know of have breeds that are traditionally very handler oriented and eager to learn and work. These include herders, especially border collies and Australian shepherds; German shepherds; Belgian Malinois; Labrador retrievers; etc. Whenever I look up training videos on youtube it's usually with those breeds of dogs.
Mia was kind of similar to these breeds too- she's a poodle cocker spaniel mix and even if I hadn't trained her to do something, if I communicated to her to do something she would try to figure out what I want and do it. She's so well behaved everyone thought I was an amazing dog trainer, but it was really all her. I'd watch a training video or read a book and then train Mia and she would do exactly what it had said the dog would do if you followed the steps. Delilah on the other hand, even if she knows what I want her to do, she won't necessarily do it because she thinks that what she wants is more important than what I want. She's all terrier, very sassy and willful, she definitely has her own agenda.

Unfortunately e-collar training and balanced training is really disgustingly popular in my area. Whenever I ask someone with like, a terrier or husky or something what they do, they always say they can't trust their dog off leash because of its breed and so they use an e-collar.

So, people with difficult breeds and/or individual dogs, tell me your training success stories! Or tell me about trainers you like that work more with independent dogs such as hounds, terriers, huskies, Asian breeds, etc. Or recommend some books, videos, articles.