Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
12,135 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We just rescued a deaf puppy, he is a white pit bull. I have questions about training/commands. I know this will have to be silent training which i have never done before. Example: when he is biting too hard or too much do I walk away? tap him on his nose? When he potties do I get in front of him with a treat afterwards, pet him, how do I show my excitement for when he does good things and my disapproval for bad thing? I use "uh uh" and "yes" with my other dogs.

·
Registered
181 Posts
Just use visual or touching signals, like petting when approving, and poking him gently when disapproving, be creative. I however have no idea how to train recall without some sort of sound.

·
Registered
12,135 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Just use visual or touching signals, like petting when approving, and poking him gently when disapproving, be creative. I however have no idea how to train recall without some sort of sound.

TY for the response. I started poking very gently of course at him when he chewed on things he shouldn't and he seems to be responding to that. I have no clue how to train him recall as well, if anybody has ideas if this is even possible please share. I have gotten into his line of site and did the "come here" type hand movement people do with babies all the time and he came running, so hopefully if I continue with that he will learn, and hopefully we can get him to focus on us when out walking just in case. Anymore suggest are welcome as well! and very much appreciated. Pics soon!

·
Registered
22,635 Posts
google is amazing!

I will look for one! That sounds awesome TY so much.