Dog Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
871 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've debated a long time about whether to post this or not. I really struggle with this and would like to know if anyone else does too. I feel like everyone I follow and everyone here has this amazing patience and I feel like a terrible trainer. Somehow I'm hoping that talking about it will help.

Does anyone sometimes struggle with having relapse to adverse training when they came from that background? Before coming to the light and really learning about how positive reinforcement works and how much better it works I was a rather adverse trainer. I learned from parents and other trainers to be the alpha, rub their nose in the problem and give them a spanking. I did follow Cesar Milan at the time.

I regret it constantly. I sometimes end up distraught over the idea that my wonderful childhood dog was submitted to rather adverse training techniques. Yet that dog loved me dearly and I hurt so much for it. I am so thankful for this forum and changing how think about training 100%

The thing I struggle with is sometimes I have a knee jerk reaction and react poorly to a situation. I know I'm wrong, I know I've just jeopardized part of my relationship with Aayla, and I instantly feel terrible.