Dog Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
562 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thankful for the mild winter this year- these pictures were taken pretty close to Christmas! Really glad we ended up getting a longer tracking season. I don't want to do a lot of training on snow because Echo is still a novice.

Does anyone else track?

Attachments

·
Registered
499 Posts
I have tried to teach Alva to track but I am not good at it. And we have practiced way too rarely to learn anything properly. It is partially about laziness and lack of motivation and goals and partially because I don't have access to good places to track for I don't have a car.

Your Echo is so beautiful...

·
Registered
46 Posts
Those photos are awesome! Do you just do it for fun or are you training up your dog for search and rescue?

I dont track - yet. I live around 6 hours away from the nearest training places, however there is a guy in my town who has organised for one of the Search Dog trainers to come to town in April, so Im going to go along to that! In the meantime though I have a lot of reading material to get through. But I have all this enthusiasm and information but I just dont know where to start! Do you have any tips as to what beginner games/tricks/behaviours I could start teaching my dog??

Thanks!!

·
Registered
562 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
@FinnAlva It can be hard to get started or train consistently! When I first started I had a hard time finding places to track. Because my dog's are novices I couldn't track somewhere with a ton of activity- too many cross tracks. In the fall I got started and trained frequently because some farmer friends let me track in their fields- but I can't track there in the summer with crops on them!