Dog Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Male and female 9.5 week old Miniature Pinscher pups. These two are little terrors already and will be going to their new homes soon where they can ferret out and rat to their hearts content.

·
Registered
321 Posts
Oh my, they're precious!

I love your sig. It's so true and it amazes me how many people call them Miniature Dobermans.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
I studied the breed for years and it still amazes me the number of people on websites including the MPCA who have fallen for the "theory" since no basis in fact that the German Pinscher is responsible for the creation of the Miniature Pinscher (Zwergpinscher). In fact, the German Pinscher (Deutscherpinscher) is a smooth coated standard Schnauzer. In the mid 1700's for some unknown reason, standard wire haired Schnauzers started throwing smooth coated pups. To date, no one knows why or how this happened but by approx 1894 or 1895 with the inception of the Pinscher-Schnauzer Klub of Germany, the breed was recognized seperately from the Schnauzer so long as there was at least 3 generations of pedigree and given the name Deutshcerpinscher, English translation, German Pinscher. Now, how a breed that did not come about for over a 100 years after the Zwergpinscher have anything to do with its creation is simply ridiculous. But there are many GP breeders who have fallen for this same garbage and post it on their websites which tells me that even they have no clue of their breeds history. Granted, the Miniature Pinscher is found in todays German Pinscher. During WWII Werner Jung of Germany was able to escape with what was purported to be 3 registered female German Pinschers. Unfortunately with no males to be found he turned to German farmers for 5 oversized Zwergpinscher males as breed stock. By the end of the 1950's, he had resurrected the breed which is what we see today. So if anything, the Zwergpinsch