Dog Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
In the future I see the opportunity to be able to own a dog. I'm a business owner and will have the time to be able to raise a puppy or a young dog since I will be living just above my business. I have two cats and am very happy with them, but my boyfriend is more of the cat lover. I am in need of man's best friend. So if anyone can help me out, maybe share with me info about their breed of choice, I'd be grateful.
I don't like big dogs. I'm a fairly small framed person, I feel like I have no control over big dogs. Medium or small sized is ideal. One that can lounge on my lap without squashing me.
Good tempered.
Not very hyper. I do not need a high energy dog jumping all over people and knocking over things.

I have a few dog books, so I've done some researching, so here are my thoughts, if you have any experience with them let me know how they do with kids, other dogs, and other animals (like cats.)

Miniature Dachshund: Ideal size for me, when I was in Berlin I saw that many of them were so obedient they didn't even need to be on a leash. They just quietly walked along side or behind their master. Would even wait outside of super markets for them, no leash at all!

American Cocker Spaniel: I've read nice things about them, and they're adorable. But I haven't been around any to really know their personalities.

That's all that I can think of off the top of my head. I know for a fact that I can't have a pug, chihuahua, maltese or a poodle. My boyfriend doesn't like them.

Anyways, I know this is long, but if anyone has any helpful suggestions please let me know. Thanks!

·
Banned
112 Posts
Try on a Chatham Hill Retriever for size, temperament and a calm demeanor in the home. Loves Children, people and other animals, too.