Dog Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,I am new to this but I really need help. Does anyone have a dog that is both deaf and blind? I have a small poodle 13 years old. He's ;blind in 1 eye a
nd going blind in the other. Also a few months ago he lost his hearing. My heart is breaking. I really need help with what I can do for him, Any advice will be appreciated.

Thank you
Charlie e

·
Super Moderator
1,631 Posts
Hi. I guess the first thing would be to find out whether the sight and hearing loss can be reversed, depending on the causes.

But if not, your dog could still have some quality of life. If he still enjoys food, and going for sniffing walks you could take him out on leash. You would need to adjust how you handle him, to make sure you don't surprise him if he can't see or hear you approach but it is doable.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Hi. I guess the first thing would be to find out whether the sight and hearing loss can be reversed, depending on the causes.

But if not, your dog could still have some quality of life. If he still enjoys food, and going for sniffing walks you could take him out on leash. You would need to adjust how you handle him, to make sure you don't surprise him if he can't see or hear you approach but it is doable.
He is so insecure and scared. He follows me everywhere. He wants me to sit with all day. I can't leave him. My vet says any kind of surgery wpuld be too hard for him because of his age.

·
Super Moderator
1,631 Posts
To be honest, I've not done this but here's how I'd go about it.

I'd work with the senses he still has, particularly touch and scent.