Dog Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I am a research student and I merely have a small room to live. Yes I can walk with my dog o daily basis but most of the time in a day, it will be alone in the room. But I do want to adopt a puppy, I love them! Should I go forward? or should I wait for my degree to finish? Please advise.

·
Banned
5,528 Posts
If you want to go forward, I'd recommend a small older dog... they'll probably sleep most of the time you're gone anyway and they often are overlooked for adoption. I think that's where your selection should focus. But I don't think you being a research student with a small apartment should prevent you from getting a dog. Just be realistic.

·
Registered
1,070 Posts
I don't know how small your apartment is, mine is 800 sq ft, I adopted a 4 month old coon hound beagle mix, she is now about 9 months old, 30lbs and as tall as a golden retriever. She gets walked everyday and most days she goes to the dog park for about and hour. I find people to watch her while I am in class, or at work or at my internship; she isn't alone for more than 4 hours a day. She does fine but she is pretty low energy for a puppy. You can definitely make it work but it is a lot of work, and expensive.

·
Registered
13,331 Posts
I would echo Holly's recommendation that an adult dog, smaller, and already mature/calm might be a more sensible option. Shelters are full of such dogs who need homes. You could save a life, and gain a best friend. ;)

Puppies are entirely different creatures in their needs and activity levels, and the amount of work they take.

·
Banned
795 Posts
I would echo Holly's recommendation that an adult dog, smaller, and already mature/calm might be a more sensible option. Shelters are full of such dogs who need homes. You could save a life, and gain a best friend. ;)

Puppies are entirely different creatures in their needs and activity levels, and the amount of work they take.