Dog Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there :)
My dog Wall-e's having problems with his left ear. I looked a little inside and there's some ear wax build up outside the ear hole. I'm assuming the inside of his ear hole is probably way more dirty.

Wall-e's itchy ears have been bothering him for about a week now, so I decided to look up how to clean his ears out on youtube. They showed how to put ear drops in their ears and how to clean them out after with cotton balls. But every single video I looked at recommended to take your dog to the vet first before doing this, because there could be something stuck in their inner ear.

I'm a full time student and I have $150 to my name, I tried to set up an appointment for my dog, but the lady at the table told me the visit'll cost up to $200 alone and probably another few hundred to get his ears cleaned. I asked my family for help, but they're either unwilling or can't afford to help either.

I really want to help, but I don't want to cause more issues for Wall-e. I'm planning to go to pet-co tomorrow morning and pick up some dog ear drops and cotton balls, too clean his ears out myself. They aren't infected as far as I know and it doesn't seem to be causing him pain besides some itching.

Sorry for the life story, should i go through with my plan or hold off until i can afford to take him to the vet? :ponder:

·
Registered
917 Posts
A couple hundred to clean ears? That is insane. When Vegas had ear issues as a puppy it was a normal vet visit plus medicated ear drops. Switching to a raw diet cleared his ears up, but I think there was some permanent damage done then. So I clean his ears often, I clean all the dogs ears. It's not hard to do and is a good routine to get into.

·
Registered
502 Posts