Dog Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
324 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a school nurse and one of my little kindergarteners just arrived to school late after spending the morning at the ER. Her 16 year-old brother's 9 month-old puppy bit her on the face. It's a really bad bite- takes up the entire right side of her face, drew blood, hugely swollen, just missed her eye...

The whole situation makes me so sad. I know this child pretty well and to say she is hyperactive and defiant is an understatement. The dog is a 9 month-old "designer dog mix" of some sort, purchased by an uncle at a pet store as a birthday gift for her 16 year-old brother. Of course the puppy never had any training, is almost surely from a puppy mill, spends most of his time in a cage...mom told me that the dog was eating spilled food off the floor when the little girl hit him really hard to make him stop eating and he lunged at her face and bit her :( And then proceeded to tell me this happened a few weeks ago as well.

So she has ordered that the uncle come get the dog and get it "out of the house TODAY". She then says "I will have to just get my son something small like a chihuahua" :eek:

We had a long talk about dogs and training, that they need a LOT of appropriate R+ , that a busy 16 year-old shouldn't have a dog, etc. I just feel sick to my stomach about the whole situation and needed a place to vent to those that would understand why I am so sad for the dog. Yes, I feel bad that the little girl got bitten, but it really in't the dog's fault, and they are "fixing" the situation buy buying another dog, only smaller...

·
Registered
2,208 Posts