Dog Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
793 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm having puppy fever as usual, and thinking about Nextdog.
I am seriously considering a Rough Collie. I have a client dog- gorgeous,skateboard reactive, separation anxiety, over arousal, mouthy 2 year old who I have been working with for 8 months now and he is doing AMAZING. I don't know if he is typical for collies, but I want one like him! (I'm insane, I know).

Anyway, insight on the breed? I've only met a few, but they have all been great.

What are some upsides? Downsides? Grooming requirements? Quirks? Health issues to look out for?

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?...0203261399560772.1073741825.1382850075&type=3

·
Registered
10,887 Posts
They're generally easy going and gentle dogs. The Rough Collies I've had since a kid can be real lazy. lol None of them have been the most playful of dogs but Kenya does like to chase or be chased. I'd try encourage playfulness from a young age, if that's what you want. You will end up with lots of stray fur in your place. :D Collies do blow coat seasonally. The amount of grooming can vary somewhat depending on personal preference but you'll need to do at least some grooming with Collies. The biggest problems I've read about with Collies is eye problems. I haven't seen problems in any collies myself but there's plenty of info about it out there and I'd check with any breeder about it.

·
Registered
499 Posts
Health issues: Hips and other typical mediumsized and large dog skeletal problems, eyes, sensitive stomach

Temperament issues: shyness, fearfulness, noise sensitivity

Grooming: surprisingly easy. Brushing regularly or at shedding season, bathing when dirty. My collie's coat has soft fringes which collect burrs and little twigs and in rainy weather, dirt and needs showering after walks.

My collie is bred in Finland and there may be differences between AKC and FCI collies.
Alva is towards...