Dog Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I was an Army veterinary technician for 7 years and had the honor of adopting one of the dogs I worked for in 2010. Retired MWD Brix is the best dog I have ever had the pleasure to know. He was retired because he suffers from PTSD. He was in the US Navy from 2001 to 2010 and served his country well.

Not many people realize that these dogs only get retired when they have some kind of medical issue that prevents them from completing their job properly. This means the ones that do get retired are adopted out to loving families, but the dogs come with high medical expenses. Veterinary bills aren't cheap and many families today can't afford the bills they have already. There is a bill being drafted to help change the status of the Military Working Dogs from "equipment" (which they are more then just a stapler) to "canine service member". This would allow them to receive awards and have medical benefits.

T.C.T.B.E. (www.csmva.org) has been working on the bill, which makes it so that these benefits won't cost tax payers and money. Also Retired Military Working Dog Assistance Organization (www.rmwdao.org) is a nonprofit raising money to help support retired military working dogs medical needs to ensure that they continue to go to loving families after their service to the country is up.

·
Registered
12,135 Posts
Very cool. Congrats on your adoption he is darling! TY for what YOU did as well as the dog! Fingers crossed that the dogs are able to be covered :)

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Another wonderful MWD story

From the mouth of Marco B127 USAF (Retired)