Dog Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi friends :) I'm a newbie to the forum. My own background is that I've had dogs my entire life, even had 2 pugs that lived to 16 and 19 years respectively! My boyfriend was a cat person, but is a natural with our dogs.
We both now have 3 rescue cats, 2 rescue huskies and our rescue cocker mix (we think with pointer). I've read a few old threads about cockers and growling, especially one with advice from a user named Tess (2012). We will try her method of tossing some treats, not staring him down. I know that growling and baring teeth is a reason for concern...but I will still ask my questions!

We adopted 8 year old Jack 6 weeks ago. He is a sweet little guy. He was terribly obese and I'm sure in pain at 50 pounds when we got him. He's lost 15 pounds since and is at a great healthy weight now. He's become more energetic, playing with the other dogs and loving his walks. Yet, he's very protective of bones and toys to the point where he growls, bares teeth, won't let go when we tell him to drop. He's gotten better over the last month because we're patient, and swap for treats now and then. Sometimes he surprises us by dropping the item without the teeth, but the growl is still there, yet he jumps up, tail wagging, ready to lick our faces and be affectionate a second later...and sometimes it's like he needs to calm himself slowly as the growls get less and less. It's confusing because, even when he hasn't had access to toys and bones, he cuddles up next to us, shows his tummy for a "tummy rub" but shows his teeth growls the whole time...it seems so UNaggressive...if we stop, he looks at us like "why did you stop???".