Dog Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello - I am a newbie here and looking for possible causes of a reoccurring behaviours.

My 5 year old collie is trained to use his run in the yard. It has small round pea gravel and is kept clean. He understands the command to 'go back' as well as 'hurry pee'.

Now two issues.

First, he used to use the whole 12'x6' space to pee, but now he will only pee just inside the gate. Sometimes he will just will stand half in and half out to pee as close to the edge as he can. (He is a boy who squats).

Secondly, about once or twice a year he refuses to use this area at all and relieves himself on the grass. I have to retrain him to use the set area by coaxing him to go in the area, rewarding him, and then eventually when he is inside the fenced area and does his business I can reward and praise him for that. It takes about a week to retrain him each time.

What's up with this? I first thought something spooked him while he was back there, but that doesn't appear to be the case as it keeps reoccurring. I do keep the area clean going so far as to bleach it and rinse with water occasionally.

HELP! Possible causes and remedies would be appreciated.

:confused:

·
Registered
13,331 Posts
There is probably something he does not like about the run. Maybe it is the smell of bleach. That would be overpowering for a sensitive dog nose.

·
Registered
92 Posts
I agree on the bleach smell, but one simple approach to try would be to add more interest. By the gate is common as it has a post. Add some posts (just thick sticks) & other vertical objects in the dog run in one area. I've even seen plastic plants used. I have a small dog igloo & nobody goes inside it, but most of the dogs pee on it instead. You can mildly add some interesting (non-food) smells to some objects. Over time you may see him change his preferences.

·
Registered
5,854 Posts
Welcome to the forum.