Dog Forum banner

Rehome? Not sure what to do

1K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  emeraldecho 
#1 ·
Hello, I am new to the group and I have an 11 month old Boston Terrier that I am considering rehoming. I've read a lot of "rehome" posts but decided to create my own post as circumstances for everyone are different.

Backstory: My husband and I had a Boston Terrier for 14 years and he passed away last year. We were devastated. His last year or two of life was a bit rough and with several health issues, it felt like I was a 24/7 hospice nurse. It was definitely very taxing on me as the primary caregiver (my husband travels extensively for half the year and the other half he is home more often). We decided that we were not going to get another dog after ours passed away. We wanted to take time to travel, etc.

Two months after he died, we started feeling like our house was too quiet (even though we have a 12 year old son who keeps us busy). We ended up looking at rescues and breeders and ended up finding a Boston Terrier breeder with puppies that would be ready to go home around Christmas time. We were so excited...until I had a sudden change of heart. It was like someone flipped a switch in me. I started to have a lot of anxiety and doubt. I expressed this to my husband that maybe we should not get the puppy. He kept insisting that it's probably just puppy blues and that once I see the dog, I will love him. I spent a week convincing him otherwise, but ultimately we ended up getting the dog. I don't want to paint my husband in a bad light, I think he saw how excited I was about getting a dog initially and I think he was trying to be supportive in his own way, knowing how much I missed our other dog.