Dog Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've started feeding my puppy GSD only raw food (chicken carcases, necks, wings) and so far he seems to love it.

I am a little bit worried though that it might be dangerous for him at such a young age. I'm also worried that it might not contain all the nutrients he needs to grow properly.

What do you think?

Thank you!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Hi
Sorry if I seem to ask a stupid question... I was just wondering why you would give your dog raw food, is it good for them, because this is the first time in my life I have heard of doing this. I must also say that I am fairly new to all of this. Although my parents have had dogs all my life.
Thanks

·
Registered
18,782 Posts
Lots of people are switching to a more natural diet after all the dog food recalls that were poisoning pets... dogs are very capable of eating raw food and it actually helps to keep teeth healthy...also you know exactly what your dog is eating...no hidden fillers like wheat and corn :) :)

Dog | Forum | Rocks!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Thank you, Criosphynx, I just have one more question.... I have a 4 month old toy pom, is it a good idea to give him raw food now, or should I wait?

·
Registered
18,782 Posts
Thank you, Criosphynx, I just have one more question.... I have a 4 month old toy pom, is it a good idea to give him raw food now, or should I wait?

Alot of people will tout raw as a perfect diet...perhaps.. I wont be one of those people that say its easy and for everyone...though many raw feeders insist its easier than dog food:rolleyes:....research the living daylights out of it before you begin is my advice, and make sure its right for you. You have to balance meat/organs and figure out portions...not to mention buying/storing meat.