Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello there :wave: I'm new here but have a serious question that I know could be misconstrued as trying to stir up trouble with the raw feeders, so let me just say that I have been feeding raw on/off since 2002, and even when we were doing kibble, supplemented with things like pork necks for teeth. I've been a huge proponent of natural feeding, and have no desire to go back to the crap in a sack (a.k.a. kibble).

That being said, I've been back to 100% raw since 2014, and seem to be hitting a few stumbling blocks. And they all seem to be related to systemic overgrowth of bacteria and/or bacterial infections.

First were runny eyes in an older female when she never had trouble with it before - this started overnight and was really, really problematic, in that the eyes were leaking profusely and all the way down to the muzzle. More recently, two other younger dogs developed the same problem, but not as bad. Two or three months after switching back to raw, a then 9yo dog started having intermittent seizures. No history of epilepsy or seizure disorders in the bloodline, and never gave any indications of seizures or auras before that time.