Dog Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, so I just met my new eight week old puppy, Lucky, and it is his third day here. I'm new to all this so I was wondering whether you guys can offer any advice because I think the people here are really helpful and informative =D

1. Potty training issue: pee training is going well. I can't get the pooping right though because he just refuses to poop in the same place as he pees but prefers to poo near/on our vege garden. I've tried saying no and taking him to the right place but by the time I carry him over to the right place, he's poo is already on the ground :( Should I just take him over to the vege garden area for poo and praise him when he goes there?

2. Unaffectionate puppy: Lucky is generally very calm so I'm very thankful but he seems to be extremely independent and aloof. He does not like coming to me even when I have treats and prefers to do his own thing most of the time. I've tried playing with him but then he'll get distracted and go to the garden to spend time alone. Otherwise, he prefers to play with the toys alone without me interfering. He does not come over for petting and cuddling. He allows us to pet him but I'm not sure whether he likes it or whether he is just putting up with it (no reaction from him). I do train him everyday and he has managed to learn sit, down and roll over in 3 days. I've also tried hand feeding him and grooming him. In the past two days though, he has started climbing onto my lap and sleeping there so I guess that is an improvement.

Is this independent and unaffectionate behaviour simply due to the new environment or do puppies outgrow this stage and become more affectionate later on?