Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Which one do you think is better? They are both about the same price, so I can't decide which one I want to feed. If you have another suggestion that is priced the same, that would be great as well, however, suggesting something that's more expensive is useless to me.

·
Registered
1,224 Posts
I'm no expert on kibble, but if it were me I don't think I would feed either one. Purina is just low quality period, and, someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I didn't think NB even has anything even meat related very high on the ingredient list. It grains are the first things listed.

I would look for maybe some Taste Of The Wild. I'm pretty sure it doesn't cost any more, and has much better ingredients. If you cant find that, then I would at least look for something else affordable, with meat being the first ingredient listed.

·
Super Moderator
8,034 Posts
Okay, I looked up the price on chewy.com

I wouldn't feed Purina at all.

Natural Balance costs about $50 for a 26 lb bag on chewy.com and is about a 3.5 star dog food (depending on which type you're feeding)

I agree with @naturalfeddogs and think you should go with Taste of the Wild. It's a better food and it's about $45 for a 30 lb bag on Chewy, making it less expensive.

I recently signed up for the autoship with Chewy and it makes the food even less expensive.

I'm in the process of switching my girl over to http://www.earthbornholisticpetfood.com/dog-food-formulas/grain-free-holistic/primitive-natural which is around the same price as the Natural Balance. I was feeding Wellness CORE but I was concerned about some recalls I read about. Earthborn has had no recalls.

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
The price range for those foods is generally $25-$40, with $40 being the highest end I would go. As I already stated, I will not pay more than that price range for food, and really don't plan on spending more than $35.