Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My female german sheperd puppy named roxy is about 2 and a half months old. She doesn't like eating her food, she does eat but only sometimes and only a little bit. When i am eating she goes crazy and starts barking and wants my food. I want her to eat her food and not mine. What should i do???

thanks for reading

·
Registered
13 Posts
Sometimes,warming up the food helps. What food are you feeding? I am no expert for puppy so,I do not know if puppy is eating kibble or not but if she were,you can add warm water to kibble and it should bring up aroma and she may eats it more.

Or is it possible that you are putting the food all day long? If so,you can feed only when meal time and when dog begs you,just ignore her.If Roxy gets what she wants (human food),she may try beg again because begging worked to get what she wanted.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Roxy is eating puppy show kibbles. But i feel like im messing it all up. I tried doing that lay down the bowl 2 times a day, but she doesn't eat. It's random, she's still young and so i want to get a strict schedule layed down?

any suggestions?

·
Registered
103 Posts
Try a different brand see if that helps also she's a puppy she needs more than an adult she should be eating several times a day vs. only 2. Don't give in to her wanting people food it isn't good for them, you can try mixing about 1/4 can of canned puppy food with her dry food to get her to eat it then slowly wean her off of it. There are also a number of medical problems that will cause them to go off food so watch closely for loose or watery stools and vomiting. If she develops either take her to the vet for a fecal exam.
At 2 1/2 months begging for human food isn't really typical it is a learned behavior that comes over time so unless she is used to getting it frequently she shouldn't be begging for it.

·
Registered
8 Posts