Dog Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
169 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I have my little man, an almost 7 month old Irish Wolfhound x Bull Mastiff puppy. At this stage, I'm a little perplexed, because it seems he's not great at picking up on other doggy social cues/body language stuff like that. I understand he's a puppy and learning and everything, I'm just beginning to get worried now, as he was attacked by another dog at the dog park last week and it was serious enough to scare the absolute bejeebus out of me.

The thing I have noticed is that he doesn't seem to pick up on the "I don't want to play with you" cues. If it's because the dog is tired, or is overwhelmed and wants some alone time, or whatever, he's just not picking up on it. Now I'm worried that it's going to get him in trouble, i.e. another dog will give him all the warning signals, turning away, growling, snapping etc and then will escalate to Frankie being attacked again.

Normally I end up coming in if it looks like it's going to get worse (either by drawing him away and getting him to sit down near the other dog and wait until they both seemed to have calmed down, or by redirecting with a toy, other playful dogs etc.) but I don't know if I'm stunting his learning curve by intervening.

My main concern is that I don't know the other dogs well enough to know what their warning signals are, or how quickly they escalate. Everyone keeps saying it will be ok, because he's a puppy and he'll grow out of his over-excited greeting of other dogs and always wanting to lick their faces and play, and that he's just learning, but I sort of feel like he's not learning good doggy manners, or how to pick up on their cues, and some dogs may not have a good tolerance for that.