Dog Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This past weekend, I had the amazing opportunity to adopt a 2 year old shih tzu/poodle mix. His name is Frisco and he was left at the shelter because his previous owner couldn't afford for the dog anymore since she lost her job. He is potty trained, intelligent, and already loves me.

I had been looking for a shih poo for more than a year now. The stars sort of aligned with this dog, since I had stopped actively looking. I just randomly pulled up the shelter page just to see what dogs were there and up popped this pooch.

I visited with him Saturday and Sunday before deciding to adopt him yesterday, Sunday.

I am a college student. I have an apartment with a roommate and a boyfriend who is almost always over. My parents were fairly insistent that I consider not getting a dog. However, I grew up with boxer dogs (I had 4 boxers in my lifetime before I left for college!) and I just missed having that company.

There's really nothing wrong with this dog. He's absolutely an angel. He sleeps so much, and loves to go on walks. He doesn't bark much and gets along with almost everyone he's met so far. Poor guy had to get fixed, though, and has a cone on his head right now.

Screen Shot 2015-09-21 at 11.58.35 AM.jpg

I'm starting to get this overwhelming fear that I made a terrible mistake. I'm scared that he would be better off in a different home, or that I'm not going to be a good owner. I'm scared that when his true personality shows, I'm going to resent the dog. Is this normal for a essentially first-time owner to have these fears? I know I have the proper experience to take care of a dog, but I worry that even still I will fail to give the dog what he needs. I'm already so attached to him, so the thought of bringing him back to the shelter just breaks my heart. But I worry that I've just made a horrible, irreversible mistake.

·
Registered
2,712 Posts