Dog Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We got our lab/coonhound mix puppy about three weeks ago, and we are doing really well with potty training and routines, but the biting is HORRIBLE! He was a rescue dog, and really young (only 6.5 weeks) when we picked him up, and he is 9.5 weeks now, so the biting might be his immaturity, but he is relentless with his biting and it is really starting to hurt me. We definitely need obedience classes, but he is still pretty young and needs a few more weeks before he can get into the program that we are interested in.

We don't have any children, so it's just me and my husband. I am a teacher and off work for the summer, so I am alone with the puppy all day, and he is tearing my skin apart! He bites my arms, legs, feet, hands, neck, chest, stomach, butt, and face. This morning, he actually just barely missed my eye. My skin is torn up with cuts to the point where several of my friends have said that I look like I'm cutting myself. It is so painful to do simple things like dry my hands after washing them. He also pulls my hair now too.

I can tell that he wants to play, and not that he is being aggressive. He loves to pounce on me and bite me or just chew my hands. If I am standing, he will even jump to bite me as high as he can (and he gets pretty high). When I am walking, he will also latch on to my pant legs or shoes. Even if we are not playing, he still bites. For example, I was still sleeping, and my husband put him on the bed while he was getting ready for work, and the puppy just jumped on top of me, started pulling my hair and then bit my face. I was totally asleep and was not showing him at all that I wanted to play.