Dog Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My 9 year old mini dachshund is seriously driving me crazy at this moment. She is healing from a back issue and is on crate rest. She is having laser treatments every three days and is on multiple supplements. The problem is that her behaviors are not aiding in her recovery at all.

I have never had a dog I thought could not be trained, but she is that dog. I started training her in December and it has been a colossal failure. I kept a dog journal the whole time which has revealed to me that I think there are some mental issues with her. I have thought about it in the past but always reverted to the idea that I was simply not training her in a way she could respond to favorably. I no longer think that is the case.

She still barks at every noise. Sleep is not something that I get to enjoy for any extended period of time. If anyone leaves the room and returns a moment later she barks. If she sees a large leaf blowing by in the wind, a cat outside, a squeak on the floor, or as everyone in our household says, if there is a strong wind she barks. It's like she truly forgets who we are momentarily. When my husband gets home she knows his truck yet still barks from the moment he drives in, until he takes his shoes off, fully enters AND someone tells her to quit barking.

The counting of her toys is maddening. She hoards toys and obsesses all day about where they are. At night she will count her toys in her head and when she realizes she forgot something she will obsess about it until she finds it. She will bark at me and whine to me to get it for her , sometimes for days at a time. At these times she does not respond to redirection. Through my journal I can see consistency with not getting these things for her but she still behaves as though I give in and get them for her. It is allllll day.