Dog Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! Newbie here and looking for any tips or advice to keep my senior happy and comfortable.

He is an 11 year old Great Dane mix with expected arthritis through his hips. He is on tramadol currently and will start meloxicam tomorrow for pain management. He has a great diet. Ground turkey, canned Avoderm and Missing Link twice a day with his meds.

Over the last three months, I have found four lumps that have been aspirated and all have been lypomas (YAY! thank goodness)!

Over the last few days, his hips have buckled a few times and he is bumping into things. Of course this is to be expected with any beloved pet and it is absolutely heartbreaking!

We have been very active his whole life. Obedience, trick, agility, flyball and tracking classes. He loves balls, toys and frisbees. He tries to play, but it is hard on him. We used to drive everywhere together, but it is too taxing on his bones to get in and out of the car. We can still take short walks to the end of the driveway, but not much more do his joints allow.

I am fully committed to continue enriching his life, however, I don't know what to do for him sometimes. Lately, I have been offering long massages and I have taken to reading Dr. Seuss to him.

Any ideas for a senior to stay sharp, enriched and happy in old age?

OH! I also just ordered a ramp and a Ginger Lead. We got him two Big Barker Beds about two years ago. What else am I forgetting?

Sorry for the novel and thank you ever so for reading.

Sincerely,
K

·
Super Moderator
10,820 Posts