Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I plan on enrolling my German Shepherd to dog protection class/training. However I am a firm believer in positive reinforcement training. For those of you who have had your dog trained in protection/Schtzhund, how did you find your trainer and make sure their methods were what you were comfortable with?

Are their any good books about dog protection/ schutzhund training that are positive?(For further research of course, I'm not experienced or knowledgeable enough to try that sort of training by myself).

Please tell me I'm not being naive in believing a dog can be trained to protect through positive reinforcement and not through negative? I'd ask my breeder ( also a positive believer and the parents of my future pup all in schutzund training) they are waaaay too far from us.

Any advice or shared wisdom will be appreciated.

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
Go to as many training facilities that you can, observe before you ever take your dog to be evaluated to see if he would be cut out for it. Most protection work I have seen done, the trainer encourages positive rewarding, which is the bite/tug. How old is your dog? Mike Ellis has some good training DVDs, lots that you can do at home to encourage tugging, building bites, etc. What area are you in?

·
Registered
728 Posts
I think a positively trained dog has the potential to outcompete a traditionally trained one.