Dog Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a new puppy owner. My little Bichon Murphy is 13 weeks old. Overall he od doing fairly well with the potty training. I live in Boston in an apartment so we are doing the potty pads and I would say he is 50/50 on making it to the pad on time or when he is left alone for a few hours.

My stress is this- he freaks the f--- out when I leave him behind. I let him have free reighn in my bedroom but he is gated in. he has a crate where his food and water and blanket are and he does in it willinglu, but if I shut the door he cries and yelps soooo loud. I live in an apartment with a room mate and don't want to irritate her OR the neighbors. When I leave he whines and yelps for a bit, and although she said it only lasts a few moments I am sure its not appreciated at 6 am!
I am a student and work a little during the week so I have to leave him for a few hours to a time.
When can I expect him to mellow out a bit? I feel stressed, overwhelmed and look forward to this "puppu" stage being over.
He also nips at my clothes and jumps up on us. I try to ignore and correct but it doesnt help.;(

On the positive side I taught him how to sit this week.

Please tell me it gets easier and better with time.

·
Registered
12 Posts