Dog Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm looking for a different approach with my puppy. A lot of her issues are on the leash but she's also reactive to people that come over to our house. She gets overcome with excitement and she jumps, bows, barks, and carries on. She's ALWAYS restrained either in a crate or tether.

My previous trainer said for me to throw treats in her crate when people come over. By the handfuls. I'm assuming this was in effort for her not to cross threshold. We work on this 2-3 days a week. She always calms down after 5-10 minutes and can be let out. At that point she can be controlled by treats. But I've been using this strategy for 2 months and it's not getting better. She still acts crazy initially.

What about planned ignoring and letting her self-soothe and then she's rewarded for calm behavior? That's how I trained her to stop going nuts in her crate. She would paw, jump, cry, and dance around so hard that I thought she was going to hurt herself. One time she set off my house alarm she was throwing such a fit. But I ignored it. Stood there until she was quiet and sat - then she got out. Do you think a similar strategy would work for the reactivity? If not, suggestions please. And please don't tell me to continue to shower her with treats. It's not working.

·
Banned
1,404 Posts
I have had success with requiring a pup to show some restraint before being able to indulge in what is making it lose its crap. "Civility" on your terms requires consistent application and blatant direction so the dog gets the message.

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have had success with requiring a pup to show some restraint before being able to indulge in what is making it lose its crap. "Civility" on your terms requires consistent application and blatant direction so the dog gets the message.