Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I have a dog that I rescued from the animal shelter several months ago. I named her Piper, but we mostly call her Pip. She started out as very shut down, phobic, high-energy, no-off-switch, bitey, and also reactive. Since I am a dog trainer, I wanted a dog that needed help with someone who had more experience and knowledge. I send updates regularly to the shelter and they love her progress. I guess I decided to put down some of her progress here, too. Especially seeing quite a couple of threads on people working with their reactive dogs.

My biggest goal is getting a CGC on her, but I also want to eventually trial with her. For now, we are pursuing the trick titles and other titles which are very accessible for reactive dogs.

Here is some progress with my punk:
https://youtu.be/kgouJrSLHBs

The Miss Bitey I'm talking about at the end of the vid is this particular behavior issue:
https://youtu.be/i_QQ1K2vzP8

She also learns tricks and is probably ready for her next trick title.
https://youtu.be/iYxHvmjB_Ko

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Another trick accomplished!

https://youtu.be/NkX1D6FgTEs

This one was a doozy for her. I started training it as a chin rest and just kept increasing criteria until I could get food on her nose.

I feel like the self control required of this one helped her globally with having the self control she needs not to just spiral into panic when I walk her around. I also work a ton on impulse control games and having her choose work over rewards a lot. I'll get a video of that later probably.

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
WOWOWOWOW. Pip went to Petco and didn't bark at anybody. She just sniffed people's feet a lot and even got pet by the cashier all over and ate tons of treats too. She was comfortable enough to show off her favorite tricks: Heel and nose-touch.