Dog Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
7,579 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all
We're in obedience classes and I hope you don't mind if I keep you updated while we complete them?

Afterwards, we plan on the canine good citizen test (I'm a volunteer pet therapist, and for Mikey to do the program he needs that first) and then hopefully agility or flyball or something! We don't want to compete-just keep him happy, exercised and engaged.

Our first lesson was in the park one-on-one because we could not make the class. (It was actually two in one, we couldn't make the first two)-so we learned sit from the side and front, down from the side and front and heel. Mikey did wonderful-he's such a pleaser. He did not know anything when we got him but he really seems to want to learn things!

Our very first 'in class' lesson was Sunday. Mikey was a little anxious (he's a bit of an anxious dog, given his past-understandable) but he did wonderful and this class we worked on recall and stay-which he did great at-recall was the first thing we 'taught' him ourselves at home so he's ahead of the class so far!

Next Sunday, before the class the instructor is having a bbq in the dog park for us to come to and doing a FREE introduction to tracking and a free introduction to agility! I'm so pumped for it, I think he'll love it! Can't wait :) :D

·
Registered
60 Posts
nice !! tracking is fun hehehe i just started working with noel on the agility but for sum reason she gets half way through the tunnel and lays down for a nap. i cant wait to hear more on your classes and how he is doing.

·
Registered
22,635 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Hey Mikey, just wondering where you are doing the training through. Sounds like a cool training class. Would be intersted in checking it out. Is that just a basic training course or a puppy course?

Thanx
Tim

·
Registered
7,579 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Hi Mickey (LOL Our names are too similar -this is going to get confusing :p)