Dog Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I'm new, and this seemed like an appropriate forum to go for help.

So I have a 12 year old cat who is VERY shy towards other people/animals. It took her almost a year to not run away from my old roommate's cat, though he was a bit of an a*hole. She's not aggressive though.

Now I have been considering getting a dog for about ~6 months now, as I'm in a new apartment with more room than my last apartment. I am terrified, however, of how my older cat will react. She's my baby, and I want to make sure she won't stress herself to illness or something. I have a kennel for the dog to stay in the living room, and I can easily close off the laundry room/bedroom for my cat (where her food and litterbox are).

Since I do have a senior cat, should I hold off on adopting? Or if I do adopt, should I go for a puppy (easier for the cat to adjust/train) or an already-trained older dog (I'm looking for medium-size, and I'm afraid a fully grown dog will scare my cat more)? I love my cat, but I also would love to have a dog, I've always wanted one. Any help is appreciated!

·
Registered
1,789 Posts
Its hard to say,I have a cat that tolerates my dog more then one of my cats.
Cats will normally pout at first,and you want to make sure the cat has its own spaces away from the dog.
A calmer dog that leaves her alone would likely be best,a puppy may actually annoy and even scare a cat worse. I found cats having a easier adjusting time to my old Newfie mix then other dogs.

If you do hold off it will likely be awhile before you get one,sense cats generally live 15-17 years old.