Dog Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello! I'm studying to be a dog trainer, and I'm looking to possibly get involved with a specific dog training group (in the sense of offering to do volunteer work and hopefully learn from them). The group gives obedience and agility classes & also runs a dog hotel.

I was reading some information about classes that they offered last year. The classes were Saturday mornings from 9:00-10:30, and they stated that it would be better to not feed your dogs breakfast that day, so that the dogs would be "a little hungry" and interested in working for treats. While I understand the suggestion of not bringing a completely full dog to class, I was uncomfortable with the idea of skipping breakfast entirely. Am I over-worrying?

Thank you very much for your thoughts.

·
Registered
286 Posts
my dogs dont have a breakfast as such. we have some quality time together why i have my coffee, and whilst we enjoy each others company i give them some treats.
they have treats during the day, and their main meal in the evening. so yes i guess i agree with that theory.
my boss at kennels i woked at, ( she was a dog trainer too), used to starve her dogs for 1 day a week, because she said in nature wolfs etc, dont eat every day. its not something i do, unless my dogs go off their food, or are not well.

·
Registered
2,901 Posts
When I went to training sessions with Chisum I didn't feed him breakfast either. Not only so he was a little hungry, but also because we went through a LOT of treats and I didn't want to fill him up or make him sick.

Generally, as long as your dog is otherwise healthy it's fine to skip a meal. It happens from time to time - even people skip meals! Since the dog gets the treats anyway, it really shouldn't be an issue at all.

·
Premium Member
4,613 Posts