Dog Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
THis is my first time on Dog Forum! I will be the proud owner of a 6 week old female Shorkie (Leila) on Christmas Eve. I am so overwhelmed because we have had a Choclate Lab (Gunner) for 4 years and my boys brought home a stray 12 week old lab/retriever, beagle mix (Chipper) on Nov 29th. We never considered ourselves "dog people", but we have totally fallen in love with them. GUnner came to us huse trained but has tons of stuff we can still teach him. We have been crate training Chipper and he is doing really good. But now, enter brand new Leila and I have no idea how to train her or how the other 2 are gonna react to one so small. Chipper already uses Gunner as a chew toy (need to know how to break that!!!) any advice will be helpful. Thanks

·
Registered
1,347 Posts
Welcome to you & your big doggy family! :)
Uuumm...I mean this with no offence buuuut, what is a "Shorkie" a mix of? A yorkie is in there, Im sure
I am sure people will be along to help with your questions soon, I will jump on after work to see how I can help.

Reactions: AllieD

·
Registered
12,237 Posts
Hi there! Hey, I see you haven't gotten your puppy yet! That's awesome! 6 weeks is too young to be leaving the mom and littermates! Is there any way you can convince the people you are buying her from to keep her longer? This will help her develop better dog-dog interaction skills that are pretty important, especially since you've got two larger dogs already.

To be honest, it's a pretty big red flag that they are selling her so young... add the whole "designer breed" thing to it, and I will just cross my fingers that you are getting a healthy puppy with parents who have been screened and certified for both the yorkie and [shih tzu?] breed health issues.