Dog Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. This is my first time posting on this forum, and it is also my first time having a dog at home!
I always had cats before (please don't hate :eek:) but my husband is allergic to cats, so we decided to adopt a pup about a year after getting married.
Two weeks ago we found Jack at a local rescue: he was described as a chihuahua mix on his paperwork, but he looks like a Parson Russell Terrier, I would say maybe even purebred. Who knows! He is about 3 years old and 17 lbs at the moment. The strange thing is that his personality does not fit the active personality of Russell Terriers! He is very shy, we believe because he was abused in the past. He took time to warm up to us, but he's finally comfortable with hanging out with us, even sleeping ON us. Sometimes when my husband comes back from work, after being out all day, he'll act scared at first until he gets more used to him again. He also sleeps a loooot.
It's been challenging figuring Jack out. He seems completely uninterested in toys. I got him a ball, a rope, and a squeaky plush toy. When he heard the squeaky toy the first time, he went crazy! He started wagging his tail and walking around in circles, and I threw the toy for him and he ran after it and grabbed it. After that, he let the toy down and went away. Most of the time he'll react to the squeaky noise, but he won't do anything about it but moan and stare. I have tried acting silly with the toy, throwing it around and going after it, hiding it from him, chasing him, nothing. He just seems clueless at what to do.
We bought him two types of bones, a big bacon flavored one, and small peanut butter flavored bones. He has shown interest in the big one, and has chewed some of it, but most of the time he ignores both bones. Weird thing, he doesn't seem to like peanut butter! I thought all dogs loved it...:eyeroll: