Dog Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, everyone! 'm new to the site, but not new to dogs- although this is my first time whelping a bitch.
I stopped by the shelter I work with today to get something small, and ended up coming home with a heavily pregnant bitch who was, what I thought, in the beginning stages of labor!
She labored for quite while and pushed and pushed, and we eventually saw a sack come partway out- but no progression. Then she broke the sack and the poor pups legs and tail were sticking out (it was breech).
We ended up at the vet where the sweet Mama ended up having an emergency c-section. The puppy that was stuck in the canal died, sadly, but the other 7 are just fine!
They are now in my downstairs kennel (formally the cattery!) in a baby pool with nice warm electric blankets and their Mama, who is SLOWLY recovering from the c-section.
It was like this: I picked up the dog at 3:00, we had her at the vet at 4:30, the pups were born by 5, she was back at my house by 6:30.

My head is spinning and I'm wondering if anyone has any advice for dealing with a c-section mama and general new puppy mama advice?

·
Registered
271 Posts
Welcome to the forum! So glad you could join!

I love fostering! It it us such a unique experience! Thank you so much for helping this poor momma out, I'm sure she loves having a nice quiet place to lay down. For the first week or so that's all she'll want, to snuggle with her puppies, eat, potty, drink, and snuggle some more. Same for the pups, they will mostly eat, sleep and poop. It's when they start crawling around that the fun begins (and chaos).

Best of luck!

Feel free to ask any questions you may have by the way, we love talking about dogs, especially puppies!!!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Talking about the mama- and the potty-