Dog Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I am new to this and using a forum, but I am in search of help, suggestions, advice, and if anybody else has felt the way I do. My fiance and I adopted two wonderful dogs yesterday, one a Maltese and the other a Mini Pinscher, and they are the most adorable little dogs. I love dogs, grew up with dgos, and have always imagined myself owning a dog. This is the first time I have a dog for myself in my own home, it's been great, but I continue to have more anxiety than I thought I would, I already suffer from anxiety, and I thought having dogs of my own would help with this and be an added benefit to my life, but I am in day 2 and very uptight. I worry about them (in a good way) since I got them. I know I am still getting to know them, so this may be a stressful process, but I shouldn't be crying for no reason, almost as if I am worrying I will fail these pups and what if it doesn't work? As I sit and type this, I watch as they sleep so soundly and I can't imagine not having them. Did anyone else feel this way or have any advice for me? My fiance is The calm one and tells me I will get over these feelings, but any help or suggestions would be much appreciated!

·
Registered
95 Posts
I completely understand your feelings. I have four dogs and every time I adopted one; I was crazy scared it wouldn't work out (what if my other dogs don't accept the newcomer? What if he's unhappy in his new home? What if he runs away?). But let me tell you, everything is going to be okay! Just take one day at a time and once you and your dogs will get into a routine, everything will fall into place. It's actually kind of sweet that you worry so much about them. If you have any anxiety, feel free to contact me, I'm happy to help!

Love,
Valerie

·
Registered
3,885 Posts