Dog Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, this is my first time here, and my first post and of course my first dog.

So 2 days ago I took a female crossbreed from shelter, she's a small one and we called her Maya. She's 5 years old.

My main concern is she too afraid of us (my boyfriend and my dad) to go outside with us. She was afraid all the way from the shelter, didn't want to get into house and I had to take her on hand to make i t happen. Inside she was running in chaos and after a while she went on my bed not willing to move from there. We've bought her her own bed, so after a while I had to take her again on hands and put her on it. Obviously she's scared but she isn't trying to bite us or even bark. I put a leash on her but she was stiff and wasn't moving so I didn't want to stress her even more and took it off. She was just laying down trying not to look too much at us. Yesterday at the noon she moved, so I though she opened to me, but apparently she wanted to poop. I've tried again with the leash, but she went on her bed and sat with her tail between her legs. I've moved away a little bit and then she pooped and peed on the carpet.

And now I don't know should I take her out by force or let her for few days do what she must to do on my carpet. I've tried to read about this in the internet, but the only advice I've found is about puppies, and not adult dogs :(

About feeding - I've fed her a little with dry food by my hand and she ate it. And yesterday I left bowl by her bed and she ate it by herself.

·
Registered
347 Posts
Welcome!