Dog Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I am new to Dog Forum and in need of some advice! We picked up Daisy(a beautiful Blue Tick Coonhound!) Monday night from a friend of the previous owner who sadly passed away last week(so she has been to 2 new houses & environments since Monday).
Here is a little bit of info about Daisy from the owners girlfriend who is a coworker: as far as we know she is 2-3 years old and had a litter if 11 puppies 3 months ago. She was mainly kept outside with the Male dog and puppies. She was allowed in at night and slept in the house and only had accidents in the house a couple of times. She did get aggressive with the male dog occasionally. Since we got Daisy Monday night(6/13) she has been mainly timid and shy. She won't go into our kitchen with linoleum flooring and we have to walk out into the grass with her for her to go to the bathroom.We have an older(12-13 year old) female golden retriever and a 6 year old son.
We are keeping her in a crate we bought during the day since we are still unsure of her behavior and if she is really housebroken or not. She will whine and howl when we put her in it and does not go in willingly.(she stops howling after a few minutes)she tries everything to avoid it.we are keeping our golden retriever in the basement with her during the day as well because she(golden retriever) is urinating in the upstairs living room if we leave her alone.
I have ran with the new blue tick coonhound around the neighborhood on a leash the last 2 evenings and she has done great with that and didn't even notice a cat sitting in someone's driveway.
The night of the 14th we let Daisy the new dog lay on our old dog Mia's bed. When Mia went up to sniff the bed which Daisy was not laying on at the time,Daisy became aggressive and started growling & howling/barking and circling Mia.we separated them and they slept in separate bedrooms and seemed fine.