Dog Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have joined this forum to see if any one can help me and my lovely new year and a half old greyhound which I got from the Dogs Trust four weeks ago. I'm a nurse, I work shifts, dogs trust were fully aware of this when finding the correct dog to match with me.

I took 3 weeks holiday to allow the two of us to settle in and bond before I started back work. Straight from the start I loved him to bits, however Within a week it became apparent that he was unable to cope for even a minute without me being there, he will howl continually and ram and try chuing through the doar to get to me. I get a behaviourist to help which suggest many things of which I have now tried all, hear is the list. Crate training, thunder shirt, extreme exercise, plugin calming refusers, muzzle, desensitisation training through repetition. I have even took him to the vet were he was prescribed a form of calms which I was assured will have an amedit effect. A week later nothing has changed, not even one bit. I contact the vet again and ask if there is anything else they can do, to my astonishment in told no, he has probably got a mental health problem just give him back to the Dogs trust! :mad: I then phone the Dogs Trust to ask what else I can try, they told me I'll have to give him back as he has probably got S/V separation anxiety, I've been made to feel like I'm returning some clothing to a shop because it doesn't fit!!! I'm hurting so much, I feel so much guilt and helpless and unsupported. I don't know what else to do, can anyone give me some advice?

·
Registered
1,661 Posts
Unfortunately separation anxiety is something that is NOT going to be cured in a week, heck, most dogs still have issues but they are lessened. I, personally, would crate train and work on leaving for small increments at a time. This will take awhile to work, so if you can't invest time then I suggest you take him back.