Dog Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK folks, I'm a newbie here and I've done a lot of research before posting this. Just a quick backgrounder on me first. I've owned and trained dogs for most of my life (I'm over 50). I have extensive experience in dealing with animal behavior issues and have even helped train other dogs. But, this one has me stumped.

About 2 years ago, I adopted a young Husky/Shepherd from the local shelter. At the time she was estimated to be about 7-8 months old. She was a transfer from a rural shelter and all they knew about her is that she spent most of her young life outdoors on a chain. Got her home and we had lots of issues to work through. As an outdoor dog, indoors was scary for her. Spent a lot of time and love over the past nearly two years helping her adjust to life, get happy and socialized. It's been very successful. I will tell her full story later and how much work it took and how rewarding it has been. We truly rescued each other. Here's what she looks like today -

So, that's the good news. But the not so good news is that there is one behavior she has that I cannot explain nor have I been successful in changing. Her eating habits are very puzzling. I've read a lot about dogs that won't eat unless there are other people around. Well, I've got the opposite in a strange way.

Tana will not eat if I am alone with her or if I'm visible to her. She can be incredibly hungry after jogging with me or playing all day with other dog friends. But, if I prepare her food and put it down on the plate while I am seated at the kitchen table, she puts her tail between her legs and slinks out of the room. However, if there is another person in the room, sitting in the same seat and I am out of view, she will eat.