Dog Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had a great weekend in Atlanta at my sisters wedding. During that time I had my dog boarding with Animal Medical Center, Brandon. This was his third time there and I thought nothing of it, when I left him there for 5 days. He was happy, and howling, paws up on the counter (big 124lb puppy)
I get back yesterday, eager to pick him up and the vet calls to say he had a heart attack!! The **** you say? I told him this kind of news is best delivered in person and I would be in shortly.
I am an Army disabled vet, and I want to think, I have seen a lot, done a lot and can take a hell of a lot...but seeing my dog on the table, a mere shell, blank stare and tongue lolled; I lost it man.
I told them they had better get to the bottom of this. How can a 2 3/4 year old Alaskan Malamute built to last, just up and die. The necropsy was inconclusive...meaning he looked fine...so no one knows. The hardest part for me, I thought was breaking it to my 12 year old daughter, but no, it was telling my wife deployed to Baghdad, via Skype that the dog who howled and lost it every time she came home, would no longer be there to greet her. When she lost it, I lost it. I am not even sure I want another dog. I have no defense for this kind of loss. Sorry for the vent, but it's been less than 24 hrs and my teeth are grinding.

Attachments

·
Registered
324 Posts